I never thought of duct tape, as much as I do now, eek!

when a person makes a statement,  an engages in a course of conduct to communicate, or to cause to be communicated, words, images, or language by or through the use of electronic mail or electronic communication, directed at a specific person, causing substantial emotional distress to that person and serving no legitimate purpose. …I ask is it harmless or culpable negligence?

I admit, I have been following the blogs on the Anthony case.   I have been noting the similarities of mob mentality within the blog-o-sphere regarding this case and how inflamed the bloggers get when another blogger choose to an opinion that is not align with the majority.   Here is an excerpt from one of the blogs I follow, and yes I do place comments, that place me on the firing line.-

I have read many articles posted by many bloggers. I even reply to the writer sometimes.  On this blog I have featured here, the owner of the blog usually does not reply to his fellow bloggers, when they leave comments on his various topics.   I do not find any fault in this, as it his choice to moderate his blog as he chooses.  With that said, it leaves the blog open to the reader/bloggers to interact with in the topic, and reply comments to each other.  Ok, that sound neat, right.   Only if your comment/opinion is in agreement with the majority.

The majority of readers/comments are from the same 13 people, on any given day, and on any given topic.  I am one of the 13, but like the number 13, I am the odd one,  I speak my mind, with unrehearsed sarcasms,  less refined sentence structure, and most of all I use all of the internet as my resource base, before post on my blog, or reply to a comment I do not agree with.  I am not always correct when offering up information that I have read, but I do offer corrections and retractions when needed.  I also think the thought of being one of the sheep, I rather be a lone wolf.

 
Casey Anthony: Why won’t she clear up Zenaida Gonzalez mystery?
posted by halboedeker on May 19, 2009 5:31:52 PM
Discuss This: Comments (152)

   “We sure could use some duct tape and chloroform about now. Me thinks that’s the only thing that will shut up finnperkins and her imaginary friend cottoncandy.”Posted by: Axxxxx | May 20, 2009 at 06:45 PM

The above highlighted comment in-which, someone has informed another reader, that they also have use for duct tape and chloroform.

              100chlrmducttape

The problem I have with their sudden need for these two items is,

… one how did they come to this conclusion, this remeedy
… and two,  their use of these items, and it end result.

As I read this comment, I thought, here is a group of people, whose recent musings are heavily cloaked in the disdain for the Anthony’s, while seeking justice for Caylee.  The point that I am eluding to,  who in the heck do they think they are,  making threats towards another person.  I can only gather that their only intention is to infer disdain for me.  Yet there have been people actually cited for such behavior, either by a restraining order, and sometimes arrsting the offender.  The comments that have words of harm implied is call cyber bullying – “by making them the subject of ridicule in forums”

Forty-six states now have laws that explicitly include electronic forms of communication within stalking or harassment laws.  State laws that do not include specific references to electronic communication may still apply to those who threaten or harass others online, but specific language may make the laws easier to enforce.

I think it’s great to allow everyones comments, and each blog owner choose to moderate their blog as they see fit.  I also think that ruling on the side of caution is fair.  What finds me scratching my head is,   the similar characteristics of the accused, Casey Anthony,  they display through their replies and comments towards me,  is the same reasons these readers use to affirm their opinions, which is most often than not, assert that Ms. Anthony is guilty.

Florida laws on Cyberstalk-

Fla. Stat.  2004->Ch0784->Section%20048#0784.048″>§ 784.048

punishment phase-775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

“Cyberstalk” means to engage in a course of conduct to communicate, or to cause to be communicated, words, images, or language by or through the use of electronic mail or electronic communication, directed at a specific person, causing substantial emotional distress to that person and serving no legitimate purpose.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 15:41:20

    huh?

    • Finn Perkins
      Jun 04, 2009 @ 15:24:13

      Cat got your tongue. My post was more a clearing of my own mind than anything else, and I have received many threats this one was tame. THEREFORE, I posted this to show how extreme people go with their comments and replies, regarding the Anthony case.

  2. Hilde
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 23:21:16

    Finn…
    this is off Topic. I just like to know why did You change the Look of Your Site.
    I did like Your old One, I thought it was very unique, it suited Your Personality.
    This new Look, sorry to say it’s not You :) but
    that is just my Opinion and really has nothing to do with the Topic, I hope You don’t mind.

    • Finn Perkins
      Jun 05, 2009 @ 03:01:55

      I know it’s not me but I got a lot of flack for the dark background.

      I rather change the back ground than change my opinion. thanks for the peek into my space. keep reading hopefilly, I will be a GOOD writer, til than I appricate you folks hanging there. :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

