I know what I do not want from my local News station,… warning sweeps weeks in may coming soon to WFTV, WESH, WKMG and CFNews 13

 why do they have an email for suggestions, when they do not read them,
if they did, there would be some changes.  The new tag line for all these
stations should be “[wkmg, wesh, wftv, not necessarily the news, ..news”

“What do you want from local News” ?

It seem the the stations, are always adding a local angle on the national subjects,
always making something closer to sensationalism verse truth. “so what the guy
who rescued so and so, is the third cousin of a guy who lives in Orlando”….

Too much news time? Yes, 3 hours of the same stories is just enough to place
anyone under doctors care, Diagnosis – Post Traumatic Stress syndrome, due
to fear mongering Local New stations. A corollary to this complaint was a sense
from many of the respondents that there’s too much repetition in newscasts.
Of course, there is an easy way for viewers to solve the repetition problem themselves:
Just turn off the TV. Too many teases? too much hype: “We watch the news
to be informed and not to be asked questions about a story that is coming up,”
“Please quit telling me over and over what you are going to tell me at 6 o’clock,”
 “Just tell me.” The word “hype” was used repeatedly by viewers frustrated
by hyperbole in newscasts.

Too Much Similarly?  when that’s not where it happened other than to hype
the story unnecessarily? Misleading Headlines and teasers, not until
the actual segment is air do you find out that it was no where near
the area the headlines stated.

Too much weather:?
WFTV 9 has “Severe Weather Center 9” [banner is in studio all year round]
WESH 2 has “Weather Plus+ [channel 2 recently change theirs, from Super Doppler 2 ]
WKMG 6 has “Storm Chasers” ,
and CFNews13 “weather on the ones”.
I can see the ” 1″  in my after an hour of watching that station.

Although I’m sure local stations have reams of research and ratings spikes that prove
viewers love weather news, but most viewers were annoyed by weather hype.  
I guess it is never sunny in Florida anymore..tourism down, we have our local
weather stations to thank for that.

Too many references to Web sites?  “The phrase that sends me not to my computer, 
but through the roof, especially when it it lightening and thundering, and I’m going
to turn on my computer…duh. – ‘If you want to know more about this subject log
on to our Web site …”

 This is not just an issue with local stations, but I address this because people
who have been left with the digital TV changes and have no choice but their local stations,
I think it is the local stations responsibilityto offer a non-bias representation of the news
and the people it is covering as well as the people who newer base.

footnote – FAIR  – The first step in challenging biased news coverage is documenting bias.

 

added reading – Profiting from the panic

Comments are closed.

