saying one’s prayer before i lay to sleep, may not help in the state of florida….

Ok, so I went to sleep, it’s sometime I am told we human must do to maintain a healthy life.  So when I read that Bill Sheaffer – WFTV legal analyst, although he used the “IF” word, the sentence still had the big “C” word, “convicted”….as he spoke to Kathi Belich, about the jury feeling sorry for Ms. Anthony during sentencing.

So did I miss the trial; I know I forgot to set my alarm.  Then I realized, yep, the trial commenced the day the story broke about Caylee.  I did the V8 motion and said, “Finn, get with the program, in the century of viral videos and instant messaging a breaking up via a text message, it is only proper that  Trial by Media, is reasonable, right”?, NOT. So let me disclose not for not only the readers of this blog, but also the named reporters, that I do not claim to be with-out sin, or that I have never stood in courtroom 6D, but I do claim to be an American citizen, and that even though I feel asleep during a few American history classes, my ears perked up when, I heard the monotone voice, reciting the preamble to the U S Constitution…

The happiest day of my parent life was when my brother and I finally arrived from Korea via San Francisco, to what was then MCO Jetport. They thought nothing could top it, but then came the day my brother and I reciting the pledge of allegiance, with all the other newly naturalized persons, who all cam here by their own accord, or like me, through the love of my parents, their hope, and their church. That was 1971, I do not recall any significant changes to the following amendments1st, 5th & 14th, that would allow anything less, would make living in the untied states dishonorable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BEES KNEES
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 12:27:54

    The state has more than enough evidence against Casey. And people hate her and her family so much it will be a piece of cake sending that murdering sl*t to the chair. Or the needle. Casey will be able to choose her manner of death which is more than you can say for little Caylee. Every person that I know, and 99% of the bloggers that I don’t know, were high-fiving and celebrating the news of the Death Penalty being put back on the table. Aileen Wurnos, on a bad day did not generate as much hatred as Casey. Anyone who thinks the jury won’t go for the DP for Anthony is in for a harsh reality check. The public wants Casey to fry. Even the people who don’t believe in the DP want Casey to fry. Stick your head in the sand like an ostrich if you want but you can only avoid the truth for so long.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 14, 2009 @ 12:25:29

      this is why she will not get a fair trial, and that your statements [“people hate her and her family so much it will be a piece of cake sending that murdering sl*t to the chair. Or the needle”…] are what they need to get and appeal.

      and unlike Nancy Grace who cuts people off for not agreeing, i choose to post your comment to re-enforce my point about how bias the coverage is. REMEMBER, you only have what the media is telling you. Period.

    • michellefrommadison
      Apr 15, 2009 @ 21:10:43

      Actually, if one only deals with the facts of this case, the state of Florida has zero direct-evidence against Casey Anthony and there are hundreds, if not thousands, of other people that could have done the crime other than Casey……………… if one only deals with the facts. 🙂

      • Finn Perkins
        Apr 15, 2009 @ 21:28:21

        the problem is that the media will only offer their opinion, and not report, it would take the wind out of their sail to big advertising dollars..

  2. Boston
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 11:02:32

    Who are we expected to get our information from? Casey Anthony? When did you ever hear anything substantive from her other than the recitation of her name?

    Rational and reasonable people know that a very serious crime has taken place. Reasonable and rational people know that Caylee Anthony did not kill herself. Reasonable and rational people know that she did not kill herself at or near a swamp. Reasonable and rational people know that the victim’s mother reported her missing after 31 days.

    Keep in mind that a child has died and the MEDIA did not kill her.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 15, 2009 @ 11:23:57

      Yes , very valid, the best response to any of my posts regarding this case. Thank you for that.

      That is why I’d like to see the media back off this case. The phase “less is more” will help insure
      the 9th District Court of Florida to seat an unbiased jury, and reduces the chance of the defense
      using violation of 5th amendment on their appeals for their client, Casey.

      That is way I have been pushing for respect to the US & the local State Florida Constitution, because it is the amendments
      in the Florida Constitution that offer outline to any claim of wrongful deliberation or jury nullification.

    • michellefrommadison
      Apr 16, 2009 @ 17:45:26

      They may have contributed to it, if you deal with the facts.

  3. Boston
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 19:47:19

    Long before the murder of Caylee Anthony we had the State Constitution and the Felony Murder Rule. I would leave any changes to Florida’s Constitution to those elected officials who are responsible for putting together referendum for change before the electorate (Florida voters). If there were going to be any changes in the Felony Murder Rule they would be explained to all potential jurors.

    Jury Nullification should not be a worry to you because you cannot assume that 12 good men and woman selected for jury duty would woefully nullify a law by acquitting a defendant regardless of the weight of the evidence against him/her, and in this case,Casey Anthony. It would not be prudent to assume that just because the media reports on the case that all potential jurors are capable of sabotaging the outcome. Voir dire is in place in order to not only look at inherent bias but also asks questions relative to how impartial a juor can be in light of the enormous media coverage. Remember no defendant charged with Felony Murder in the First-Degree wants an illiterate or mentally challenged individual on the jury.

    The media plays a dominant role is protecting both the victim and the accused in every case they report on. If it were not for the media hundreds of men and a fair number or woman would not have walked out of prison free. Long live the media.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 15, 2009 @ 20:33:54

      I am not changing the rule, nor am I avocating such, I am a just placing it out there to be discussed.

      as far as “Voir Dire”
      Supreme Court decision of Singer v. State, 109 So.2d 7 (Fla 1959), and its progeny, the court observed that although the juror in this case subsequently stated he believed he could be fair, the juror never recanted or receded from his earlier expressed view. The court held that any “ambiguities or uncertainties” concerning a juror’s impartiality must be resolved in favor of excusing the juror. Therefore, the defense verdict was reversed.

      Media –
      It does have it’s role, but it would be hard you to say honelty that your opinion on this case was not made, by the information you recieved from the media, whether local or cable coverage.

  4. Boston
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 21:59:04

    I am guided by the Discovery that has been published.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 15, 2009 @ 22:05:38

      I agree, the reason why I am not happy how the media is covering this case is because the reporters have lost sight of the very fact you just stated..”guided by the Discovery”, the only place you can get actual discovery files un edited by the press/tv networks is through our orange county clearks office. If you notice a lot of the Motions that were filed, were actually available on line berfore they were released by the ASA office [- “assist. state attorney” is how the state of florida addresses ADA’s]. the motions on the net are un-signed by the attorneys, for both sides of the room.

  5. Boston
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 23:26:16

    I certainly agree with you on that point. You stated it clearly and got right to the point. Excellent.

    It is incredible the amount of information that we get on this case. Of course Orlando has a high crime rate and all the other cases have published Discovery but we’re not too interested in them largely due to the fact that their cases have not hit the media “fan” so to speak.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 16, 2009 @ 00:00:46

      Well Said, Glad to hit the midnight hour in agreement. I very much appreciate your comments/postings. the comments I get help direct where I go from one post to the next.. did you catch my “Bo” the puppy post, seems not too many hits on that one, seems the Anthony case is trumping most of my other tags/postings.

  6. Boston
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 08:29:00

    Finn-Ideas flow when a good conversation is started. You are so keen to pick up on future ideas from your posters and beging the conversation where you and they left off. I see many WordPress byline writers doing this routinely. I think this is directly related to their “fan base”. I wouldn’t get too esoteric in my musings but would center my writing on the human reaction many feel, the dynamics (or should I say dynamite)that we can anticipate in the courtroom, the efficacy of Jose Baez and the possibility of any number of defenses. I would say that you will get many responders to engage in these discussions.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 16, 2009 @ 08:40:56

      “- – possibility of any number of defenses”.
      Yes, so true. That is why earlier on I stated the in my posting “Baez’s strategy is YOU..the viewers/blogger”, because if they can come up so many alleged scenarios, then there must be the same reasoning on the part of the defense counsel too.

  7. Boston
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 09:10:11

    I will read your “BO” puppy post. I love dogs. In early March I adopted a darling dog named Daisy.

  8. Boston
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 13:13:26

    Finn-I bet you the Baez team is on the internet blogs looking for that one little pearl that they overlooked in the ocean of possibilities!

  9. Boston
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 21:55:28

    Don’t you know that he is searching not only for a possible defense(s) but also a new death qualified defense attorney. Casey is deserving of the best defense he/she can come up with.

    It might have been possible to have struck a deal early on with diminished capacity or the Snapped defense rather than the hopelessness of the Death Penalty.
    She is deserving of an opportunity to seek redemption and forgiveness.
    Her parents need to be given the opportunity to embrace the truth as a family.

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 16, 2009 @ 23:13:19

      Yes. “—She is deserving of an opportunity to seek redemption and forgiveness.” is the first sentence I have seen on any blog regarding the anthony case.

  10. Boston
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 09:32:56

    Finn-I am never blinded by the facts in this case and if one is guided by the Discovery and the actions of others, it is fair to say that law enforcement arrested and charged the only person with motive, opportunity and means. I remember with clarity blogging on October 11, 2008 that October 10 was her last day of freedom for the rest of her life.

    Retribution, imcapacitation, deterrance and rehabilitation are the main purposes of criminal law and I am comfortable with exacting punishment. Every guilty person needs the opportunity to deal with his/her demons and if it takes 23 hours a day of isolation than I would select that before I would take their hope away. Everyone is deserving of hope. Without hope what do you have?

    • Finn Perkins
      Apr 17, 2009 @ 09:40:10

      “Everyone is deserving of hope”. –I agree. It’s is so crazy here, first the viewers want the Death Penalty, the ASA’s remove it, then because the remains were found, the ASA wants to place it back. I thinks it is a ploy to force a plea.

      In the mean time the viewers are elated to the idea., but when it comes down to it, I am sure the line to actually see the deed, will be short.
      saying what you feel on a blog, shielded by a suedo id, but when it comes to be the face of the jury, then I think they will think better of it, and how it will impact the rest of THEIR life, not jus the life of the defendant.

      Now as an excuse to take it off, the viewers are screaming that the tax payers do not want to foot the bill.

      I also think the media used this to keep the story on the air since there is very little court house news right now.

