WOW – Hello 2009, Hackers completely break SSL using 200 PS3s

At the 25th Annual Chaos Communication Congress in Berlin today. A team of security researchers and academics has broken a core piece of internet technology made their findings public today.

The team was able to create a rogue certificate authority and use it to issue valid SSL certificates for any site they want. A user would have no indication that their HTTPS connection was being monitored/modified. for more info go here.
rogue certificate authority and use it to issue valid SSL certificates

All I can say is: I gotta go and but 199 more ps3’s and I can do that 😉 eh?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Finn
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 02:37:00

    If I had known this was coming down the pipe, I would have ask for a few ps3’s for Christmas.

