When will we describe history with out gender or race as it’s marker?

I am speechless/ no words to type can describe..[quote Sen. Obama- “this was never about race”, ] yet He himself made it about race in his address to all Americans last night.

There have been African American men and women in high office, in and out private and public service sectors. I am not surprised by the nomination, or the election of Sen Obama, I am only surprised that Americans still felt the need to be vindicated on this matter. I am Korean.. and I realize my ethnic background is not a topic usually correlated with racial bias.. but I will state as a Korean American from the day I walked into “pre-K classroom”.. I knew I was different. It was my Parents who told me otherwise. it was my parents who influenced my opinions on who I was and where I stood among other Americans. I can say that I have not walked in the same shoes as an African American, but I can say that I have been a target for bias, but I am never a victim… I did not allow it nor did my parents..who by the way are from upstate New York, (German/Jewish and Protestant).

I think that the last 20 plus years our young American’s have been parent less. hum when will we describe history with out gender or race? Now that would be History! oh wait we did, it was on Sept 17th, 1787.

“We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.”

I think that there is a world of difference between yesterday and today, I think all us realize the history being made. I never thought that I would be watching Fox news, but it seems that they were by far the most non-partisan media out let available during the past 21 months. the next 76 days on every other station will always be pre-address as the first African American president… Poor Sen, oops.. President-elect Barack Obama, will have this the bare forever… I hope that he out shines his history making day, by being the FIRST OUTSTANDING non-partisan PRESIDENT, Now that would be history.

This is not intended to offend anyone, it is only to show how long it took to get back to where we once were on that 17 day of September, 1787

The only prerequisite that is listed…[ shall not have attained to the Age of thirty Years, and been nine Years a Citizen of the United States, and who shall not, when elected, be an Inhabitant of that State for which he shall be chosen. ] none of which related to ethnicity or gender. If there is anything that is historic or meaningful is that it took a citizen of a minority population, to leads us to what we the majority would of known and ascend to years ago. One last item, the fact that the citizen is also a graduate of constitutional law is not a surprise.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aleen
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 17:55:57

    Holy Wow!!

    Are you seriously thinking that the 1787 Constitution of the United States was unbiased?
    Oh dear. The words were just marvelous and we can thank
    our founding fathers for their straight language
    (uselful especially today!!),
    but seriously (!!)
    it NEVER OCCURED TO THEM
    that any other “race” would challenge the
    ASSUMED
    intent of the “superior white/Anglo-saxon.”
    Let’s get real.

  2. johnny
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 15:52:38

    PBLK2C Thanks for good post

